Children’s book: layout revisions


We learned that 8×10 is a standard size for children’s book publishers – not 8.5×11… good that we found that out early in the game, but it’s still messing me up changing my whole inDesign file dimensions. Thank goodness I took a class to learn ID shortcuts.

Also, make sure your page count for your book is a multiple of 8… I understand 4 because of front and backs of a single spread (2 facing pages)… but its 8. Also I found some good resources on copyright pages… so it’s still a work in progress. No worries though, it’s an awesome project to be a part of.

3 Replies to “Children’s book: layout revisions”

  1. Hi Rob,

    AWESOME work. Glad to find a fellow stay at home father in the same boat I’m in. Isn’t it great? Look forward to seeing updates. I have learned a lot going through your blog.

    Take care,
    Jeff

    1. Yep. I was laid off from my job at the end of Nov, so I said “Okay God. I get it. Now’s my chance.” Surprisingly, the wife was on board. It’s been a blast but definately a whole different world! Thanks for stopping by! =)

Leave a Reply

