Since I’m new at illustrating kids books, my local library is a place where I can do a lot of research without having to buy a bunch of books (though I would enjoy that!).

One book that caught my eye recently was “Scaredy Squirrel at the Beach” by Mélanie Watt. The artwork in this book is simplistic and beautiful. From an execution standpoint, I can definately see how it saves time over other methods of electronic painting like I’m doing. It appears the illustrations are scanned line charcoal drawings, with rough color applied quickly using Photoshop’s marquee tool to make approximate shape selections and filling them with color. It probably saves time and money for the illustrator, and the look is still AWESOME and bold enough to be relatable to kids.

04-20-09_1130

If you’re in the same boat as me, and you want to see Photoshop used productively, a clever font choice and just a hilarious story, check out Scaredy Squirrel. It’s not just for kids. I was saddened that someone else had placed a hold on it, so I couldn’t renew my checkout and admire this book longer. Great job Mélanie!

(Here’s another review of another Melanie Watt book starring Scaredy Squirrel, for your reading pleasure)

