“There is no pay but If you are looking to build your portfolio, this is a great opportunity for you.”

Do you know how insulting this line is to someone who makes their living as a graphic artist? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read it lately. And people have no problem saying it too… like they’re doing the artist a favor by “building their portfolio”.

“Excuse me, Mr. Architect. I’d like you to design my house. There’s no money in it for you, but for the hundreds of hours you devote to my project, you’ll have a nice picture to show people what you can do.”

I wonder if that’d work in a restaurant. “I’m sorry, I’m not going to pay you for this steak, but it’s a great opportunity FOR YOU to get some good word of mouth advertising…”

Do you see how insulting that is? Would you do your job for free when you’ve got bills to pay and mouths to feed? I wouldn’t.

C’mon people, stop devaluing our industry.

