Here’s just a general observation I’ve made ever since joining the ranks of the working joes out there and it’s something that’s been stuck in my craw (where is my craw anyways?) for a long time now.

We seem to have decided that professionalism doesn’t really matter anymore. If there is one thing that turns me away from a job posting, an interview or a working relationship, it’s hearing people use profanity in the workplace.

Maybe it’s just the way I was raised (I’m actually only 36 so it wasn’t that long ago), but I firmly believe there is NO CALL for using foul language on the job. At my first job as a boxboy at a grocery store in high school I first noticed it. I was no saint, I was a high school student who thought it was cool to cuss now and then. In my twenties, I’d do it without even thinking about it when hanging out with friends. BUT NEVER AT WORK. It was just something you didn’t do.

We seem to have decided that professionalism doesn’t really matter anymore.

But society seems to have changed. I cannot tell you how many job postings and interviews I’ve been through over the past 2 years where I hear a random S-word or F-bomb or a call to be a kick-a-stubborn-pack-animal designer/rockstar/burgerflipper/etc.

Please don’t think I’m being all high and mighty here – I’m not saying this because I’m a Christian – I’ve felt this way LOOONG before I became a Jesus Freak. I just think it’s a sad statement that professionalism has eroded so much in today’s society.

Like I teach my kids, anyone who uses profanity shows only ignorance – it’s a sign of a lack of intelligence because they can’t pick a better, more acceptible word to express their opinion. It’s always a choice. I had no problem turning off my ‘potty mouth’ when on the clock, and neither should you.

Like I learned at Media Partners, if you wouldn’t say it to your grandmother, you don’t say it at work. PERIOD.

Corporate grind? You dress nice, right? Dress your language just as nicely. Casual work environment? Me too – it comes with the territory of being an artist. Just because I wear jeans and t-shirts to work doesn’t mean I’m held to any less of a standard. There really is no excuse.

Like I learned at Media Partners, if you wouldn’t say it to your grandmother, you don’t say it at work. PERIOD.

And if I’ve worked with you before and you’re feeling a little guilty or offended, please know that I don’t expect you to walk on egg shells around me or turn it down “because that Christian guy is here now”. I just want you to think before you speak. Ask yourself, “How do the words I use reflect on me as an intelligent, respectful person?”

That’s all. I’m climbing down off my soapbox now.

